A Commonplace Killing giveaway

On a damp July morning in 1946, two schoolboys find a woman's body in a bombsite in north London. The woman is identified as Lillian Frobisher, a wife and mother who lived in a war-damaged terrace a few streets away. The police assume that Lil must have been the victim of a vicious sexual assault, but the autopsy finds no evidence of rape, and Divisional Detective Inspector Jim Cooper turns his attention to her private life.

How did Lil come to be in the bomb site - a well-known lovers' haunt? If she had consensual sex, why was she strangled? Why was her husband seemingly unaware that she had failed to come home on the night she was killed?

In this gripping murder story, Siân Busby gradually peels away the veneer of stoicism and respectability to reveal the dark truths at the heart of postwar austerity Britain.

For readers of Sarah Waters and Pat Barker, this novel depicts the lesser-known territory of postwar London with a compelling new detective voice. Busby won wide critical acclaim for her last novel, McNaughten, a murder story set in early Victorian London. A Commonplace Killing shares the same minute attention to detail and character. Brilliantly plotted, the police investigation is interwoven with the events of the victim's last day. 

About the author

Sian Busby

Siân Busby was an award-winning writer, broadcaster and film maker. She published four books, including The Cruel Mother, a memoir of her great-grandmother which won the Mind Book Award in 2004, and McNaughten, which was published to critical acclaim in 2009.

She was married to the BBC business editor Robert Peston and had two sons. She died in September 2012 after a long illness.

If you would like to make a donation to the Roy Castle Lung Cancer Foundation, the leading lung cancer charity, visit www.roycastle.org/donate

 

If you receive a copy, we do expect you to post a review or join in the discussion on the thread.

This giveaway has now closed, but you can buy the book here.

 

 

Last updated: 28-May-2013 at 10:12 AM