Did I overreact? What would you have done? Sorry, long post!

(12 Posts)
BilboTheAlmighty Fri 30-May-14 12:29:11

I am a secondary school teacher and I share a form group with a colleague.

This colleague has a sexist outlook on his job, to the point that I think it has a negative impact on his pastoral duties towards the girls and boys in our form. His sexism isn't overt and is therefore far more pernicious.

Examples include: running out of the classroom when a few girls approached him to talk about a problem they were experiencing, telling them Mrs Bilbo would take care of it instead. His justification? I'm more apt to deal with girls' problems (his words, not mine). As a teacher, can't he deal with a pupil feeling down because they struggle in maths or feel bullied or whatever?

It came to a head when he again segregated our duties according to our genders: whether this is a personal or an academic issue, he just doesn't want to deal with the girls. It's not that they just prefer talking me, it is the fact that he refuses point blank to deal with their problems even if they come to him first!

I put my foot down and told him his attitude was sexist and refused to keep on this gender biased farce any longer. Not only is his attitude disrespectful to me (as it happens, I'm a teacher, not just a woman, and my duty extends to ALL pupils) but I'm convinced the girls are now subconsciously assimilating the message that their problems aren't worth a man's attention. I even overheard comments while silently working in the background and yes, I am worried about the message it sends my pupils.

I have involved management in my complaint. I am certain the relationship with that colleague is now irreparable. I don't care to be honest: for various reasons (not just the sexist one) I have absolutely no respect for him as a professional.