How to respond to this cheeky request

(43 Posts)
joshandjamie Wed 10-Apr-13 22:41:34

So a friend (new friend, don't know well but part of a budding friendship group) is a garden designer. We needed our garden sorted. We asked him if he wanted to take a look for us and do some designs. He duly did and we paid him for them. He then sent us a cost estimate to have the work done by a builder friend of his. It was expensive. I replied saying that we were going to get our own builder to cost it up.

He replied saying that he was happy to talk to our builder to give more details on the designs. So he is being helpful. But then came the corker.

I write for a living. He asked me if I could do him a favour. He asked if he could send over the copy he'd written for his new website so that I could 'look at it with my professional eye and could I edit it for him. No rush.'

So - he does garden design for a living. He creates some designs for us. We pay him.
I write for a living. I must read his copy and edit it for him. For free.

I don't know how to respond to him. It's the principle of it. Why should he get a freebie when I have to pay? I wouldn't mind helping a friend out but surely it's quid pro quo? Incidentally, the price charged if I was being paid would probably be similar to what he charged us.

WWYD?

WhatTheWaterGaveMe Mon 15-Apr-13 15:59:29

I would have said;

Yes, do you want me to quickly proof read or do you need a professional
Job done?

I liked your reply though

bombyxmori Mon 15-Apr-13 15:51:12

sweetie: "not a five minute looking at grammar and punctuation"

Yes, isn't editing a breeze. Don't know how we have the nerve to charge at all.

Well done on your reply, OP - very professional.

thermalsinapril Sun 14-Apr-13 20:45:39

YANBU at all! How cheeky of him!

TeamEdward Fri 12-Apr-13 11:58:06

Thanks Stealth. I did think to just tell her to Google it...

good reply!