Should I train to be a teacher or move for a £60K paid job?

(268 Posts)
Arthurlager Wed 27-Mar-13 13:48:37

I have a dilemma and would welcome opinions.

I am 39, have 3 DC, 11, 9, 6. I have a place on a teacher training course in September. It will mean no income for a year then a starting salary of £21K. And fab holidays of course. Things are already very tight financially. Just to keep my options open I have applied for, and got through to the last stage for, a job paying a starting salary of £60K, final salary pension, bonus scheme etc.

If I am offered the job, it would mean moving house to a part of the country I have always liked, moving schools etc, something I have never done before. But of course it is F/T so I would need a childminder or nanny as we have no family there.

So...what would you choose?

Cheddars Wed 27-Mar-13 13:51:34

I would go for the 60k job. Teaching is a lot of work for not enough money imo. If you are not absolutely sure you want to be a teacher, it can be the most stressful job in the world!

anchovies Wed 27-Mar-13 14:07:40

Do you have a dp or family support where you are? I am currently doing a PGCE but over two years and am really enjoying it. I like my subject and there is a good chance I'll get a job from my placement. What do you think your job prospects would be following the course? I am finding it hard work though with three dcs even part time. I still have moments of doubt as I left a well paid job behind.

It's hard to say without knowing how much you would enjoy the job you have applied for and what made you decide to apply to teach?

YoothaJoist Wed 27-Mar-13 14:09:19

The 60K job, no question. The chances of you ever earning money like that as a teacher are very slim.

Oh, and those fabulous holidays? You need them to recover from the sheer grinding horror and misery of the terms.

rottenscoundrel Wed 27-Mar-13 14:13:40

final salary pension <faints>