I've just bought Nail Envy and some OPI minis - tell me they will transform my poor nails!

(59 Posts)
mirai Sun 26-May-13 07:19:56

I bit my nails when I was a child; I managed to stop all through uni then started up again the night I had a big row with a dick of an ex-BF!

Anyway... ever since then I have continued to bite, sometimes I manage to stop biting for a week or two and while they do grow they are so weak that I can even bend them. shock sad

SO, I have just bought some Nail Envy and the OPI Euro Centrale mini collection as a treat..

Please tell me that soon my nails will be looking long, strong and beautiful!! I've never tried OPI before so this is all new to me smile

valiumredhead Fri 02-Aug-13 15:05:24

You need to rub in coconut oil ever day,I have proper long, strong nails with no splits!! Flexitol nearly worked but coconut oil is the BESTgrin

CointreauVersial Fri 02-Aug-13 13:07:16

I'm a couple of weeks into Nail Envy treatment, having read this thread. It certainly seems to be helping a little, but I'm very bad at remembering to reapply every two days (and if you don't, it starts to peel off from the base of the nail). I guess it works by preventing/overpainting any peeling/flaking bits, and making the tip of the nail thicker/stronger, so I'm probably not getting the best out of it if I keep forgetting to reapply.

I love the thick/shiny finish, though.

I'll give it a few more weeks, then I might try the Mavala if it's good. Sally Hansen did nothing.

Onesleeptillwembley Fri 02-Aug-13 11:02:52

Buying a buffer worked for me, just use it when watching tv at nights. I had terrible nails - they're not perfect, but are unbelievably better. I've spent a fortune in my time, and this is the only thing that has worked. Also, always have an emery board handy, or you'll bite snagged nails and then carry on. I also rub on a bit of baby oil before sleep.
Buffer and wax - £7 in larger Boots and M&S, £5 in Superdrug.