some questions re redundancy process

(6 Posts)
bananasandhoney Wed 30-Jan-13 11:21:48

Thanks, I hadn't actually come across that site so useful reading.
maybe I am being picky here but this doesn't sit right with me: a meeting has just popped up in my diary for Friday afternoon. I assume this is the follow up meeting, although there is no text, just date and time. is it just rude or actually not going about things in the right way?
This is my question re process really, I know there are things which must be done but don't know if there is a right way.
thanks for any input.

somebloke123 Tue 29-Jan-13 10:33:35

Again this is off the top of my head and I'm no expert, but I think the strict rules are that the requirement for an extended formal consultation process apply to cases where more than 20 staff are losing their jobs. But even in an individual case they do have to consult with you and explore alternative work you could do.

This is from the TUC, though maybe you already have this:

www.unison.org.uk/acrobat/facingredundancy_tuc.pdf

bananasandhoney Mon 28-Jan-13 16:26:33

Thanks for your reply. it's compulsory redundancy and I will get full 12 weeks notice. I'm just not sure if that can start right away or if there does have to be a process in the name of consultation.
anyway, it's now more than likely not today! but am finding it v difficult to keep going in a sort of limbo now.

somebloke123 Mon 28-Jan-13 13:41:41

Nothing much to add but even if you are made compulsorily redundant you are entitled to a certain amount of notice.

This amounts to a week for every year you have been there, up to a maximum of 12 weeks. How long have you been there?

Are they offering voluntary redundancy? If so, is this going to be greater than compulsory?

bananasandhoney Mon 28-Jan-13 09:11:09

Hopeful bump?

bananasandhoney Mon 28-Jan-13 07:42:26