teachers handing out birthday invitations - should this be ok when all are not invited?

(97 Posts)
greener2 Tue 27-Nov-12 19:04:34

Hi,
as topic says really. My daughter is in reception class so i am new to the school thing but she has been really upset the last week. The teachers have a birthday chair in he classroom. When its someones birthday they come up and they hand out invitations to their party. Obviously the issue is not whether my dd is invited as its fine and i understand but the upset she has when she is 1. waiting to see if she is invited 2. subsequently isnt invited has to have the disappointment of this...

Am i ott in not being happy with this? I really feel for her poor thing. By the way she is suspected of haveing autism which the school are aware of and so things do affect her differently so please be kind when responding. Thanks

scurryfunge Tue 27-Nov-12 19:07:59

Seems a bizarre practice. Why can't parents hand out invitations at the gate? I have no idea why teachers feel the need to get involved with this.

flutterby123 Tue 27-Nov-12 19:08:55

Hello, to be honest that seems like a bit of a strange thing for the school to do. If they were sitting in the birthday chair to have happy birthday sung to them or their peers say one thing they like about them and wish them a happy birthday that would be fine, but surely this is just asking for children to be upset? I would be fairly certain that other children (whether they are on the Autistic spectrum or not) would get upset by not getting an invitation too. Could you speak to some of the other parents about this at the school gates and see how their child feels about it? Maybe you could let the teacher know (just let her know and make a point of saying you're not asking for it to be changed or anything - there's always more chance of teachers changing things if they're not asked to in the first place!)

MisForMumNotMaid Tue 27-Nov-12 19:11:06