A question about pocket money

(13 Posts)

DD will be 4 in a couple of months and we're considering starting to give her pocket money. Atm she gets 2 magazines a month (Octonauts and Alphablocks) so we were thinking 50p to £1 a week in addition to those.

Is this too stingy? Money's pretty tight (my mum sometimes buys the magazines if we can't afford to) but I don't know what's reasonable at this age. Any thoughts?

Mine are 4 and 6 and don't have pocket money yet. I suppose until they understand what money is/how much things are etc, I think it's kind of pointless.

My plan is to wait until they ask for pocket money - then negotiations will begin grin I also buy them magazines/treats etc on a fairly random basis, so they certainly don't need money of their own.

I know what you mean about learning how much things are. Tbh I think having pocket money can help with that - but then I've never done this before so what do I know? grin

Me neither, but we are all just making it up as we go along, aren't we?? shh that's the big secret out of the bag now

So yeah, I don't think it's stingy, I don't think it's necessary either but I don't think it's a terrible idea grin I am so bloody helpful, it's unreal

What a shit AIBU that would be grin

givemeaclue Sun 05-May-13 19:23:00

I think its pointless until they have numeracy skills to understand money. Most 4 year olds are not that advanced. I don't know any five year olds who get pocket money.

notcitrus Sun 05-May-13 19:27:24

Ds is nearly 5 and doesn't really get money and change yet, so I'm sticking to max one magazine a week, if he's done most of the activities and had the stories read in the last one, ie not just played with the toy on the front. So it's about 3 a month, because thankfully Octonauts only comes out every 4 weeks...

Once he can add up, I'll do what my parents did, enough for a.comic and a.small chocolate bar but not a big one. For now, anyway.

givemeaclue Mon 06-May-13 10:52:59