Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications, experience, or professional qualifications of anyone posting on Mumsnet Talk and cannot be held responsible for any advice given on the site. If you have any serious medical concerns we would urge you to consult your GP.

Lupus: Does anyone have it or know anyone with it?

(9 Posts)
Grockle Fri 14-Dec-12 01:35:28

Thanks piprabbit, your post is so helpful and very reassuring. I had a quick look at the Lupus UK site and it seems to have lots of information.

I'm at the stage now of just wanting a diagnosis. I've been too ill for too long to keep taking time off work for being tired/ achey etc!

Korma, I have had quite a bit of time off work too. I've gone back now but am struggling (I'm a teacher). DP acts as my carer so mine is the only income so there's a lot of pressure for me to carry on... I don't get DLA. My mobility is poor too. I walk with a stick outside or clutch to walls inside. I crawl up the stairs to bed and on bad days, use a wheelchair. It's miserable!

Look after yourself.

Thanks grockle. Things are really bad at the moment, am off sick from work and have zero money which isn't helping me feel better
Am in constant pain and my mobility is very poor

Thanks for link to thread, ill gave a good read
When I've got the energy lol

piprabbit Fri 14-Dec-12 01:19:16

Hi - I have Lupus (SLE). It's a PITA to diagnose, I'm sorry that you've been ill and left to worry.

I was diagnosed about 16 years ago but have been in remission since diagnosis and haven't needed any medication for the last twelve years or so. I was really ill and struggling before I was diagnosed, but with effective treatment it was fairly quickly under control and I started to feel better. Since then I have had two children - which probably explains my current feeling of exhaustion better than the Lupus.