Spending budget italy summer holiday

(16 Posts)
frazzled74 Sun 09-Feb-14 09:07:46

I'm trying to work out a budget for my week holiday to bella italia , peshchieria with 2 adults and 4 dcs, how much would be the minimum that I would need to take spending ? I've accounted for 2 theme park/ city days out seperately so it's just food for the week, mainly eating in but the odd lunch out but nothing fancy? Are the prices in supermarkets extortionate? We have to buy everything there as flying, not driving . Thanks for any advice as I've never done a euro camp type holiday before .

3catsandcounting Sun 09-Feb-14 10:26:28

We're staying at Del Garda Campsite in a mobile home in August (first time for us too!) so watching with interest. As far as I know the shops on these sites are fine but more expensive than supermarkets (I think there are a few nearby). I'm reckoning on spending around the same as our normal S/C hols with the added expense of a couple of theme park days. Last year in Spain we had 11 nights, and spent around £850; (2 adults, 2 hungry teens) that included all food for breakfast, lunch and dinner and lots of wine! We ate out every other night and did a few local tourist visits to caves etc. Also a few tennis sessions. So, I'd reckon on £75 a day; excluding theme parks. Do you normally S/C?

3catsandcounting Sun 09-Feb-14 10:28:25

Just seen you have 4 DCs, so bump that daily rate up a bit!!

3catsandcounting Sun 09-Feb-14 10:34:21

However, if you don't eat out every other night like us you could lower that rate considerably! Eat in and walk into town later for a gorgeous ice-cream. We did that a few times; saves ££s!

Creamycoolerwithcream Sun 09-Feb-14 11:20:31

I'd probably take whatever you normally spend on food at home plus another �60 a day. That way you would have money for a few lunches out, ice creams, extra bottles of wine etc.

3catsandcounting Sun 09-Feb-14 11:53:15