Urgent help please! How do people normally pay for private villa/ cottage rentals? Owners asking for bank transfer

(20 Posts)
Yorkshiremother79 Sat 31-Mar-12 21:45:18

I've never done this before. Can you tell?!
The owners of a villa I'm looking to rent say they take paypal (but with a 3% charge) or I can transfer the deposit straight into their bank account. I feel uncomfortable with this. How do I know they are legitimate - if I don't at least pay by credit card, I could be transferring money to anyone surely?

ethelb Sat 31-Mar-12 21:47:12

I went thorugh a website and paid the villa agent via an online transaction on their website.

Waswondering Sat 31-Mar-12 21:47:23

We had the option for both - think we did paypal for the security thing.

Have a great holiday!

Yorkshiremother79 Sat 31-Mar-12 21:54:26

So it's not suspicious that they asked for a transfer and normal practice then?
Will we have some protection if we do Paypal?

JasperJohns Sat 31-Mar-12 21:57:52

We rent privately every year and always pay by bank transfer.

ethelb Sat 31-Mar-12 22:30:06

check the t&C for paypal. It is pretty safe, esp if you pay via paypal with a credit card.

Yorkshiremother79 Sat 31-Mar-12 23:22:31

Ok will do that. Still a bit scary and would prefer credit card but of course private renters understandably can't offer that.

MaggieW Sun 01-Apr-12 11:39:38

We rent out a holiday property and take payments either by cheque or bank/internet transfer. It's never been a problem for any people who've booked as I either speak to them or email them to explain how payments work. I also email them the details for getting the key/full address as soon as payment is made so that they have all the details for their holiday, which reassures them that all's well. If you're worried, speak to them directly.

mummymeister Sun 01-Apr-12 11:42:00