Stay freelancing or go for offered permanent position. WWYD?

(4 Posts)
FaddyPeony Tue 08-Oct-13 21:34:29

This is a bit long, sorry.

I've been freelancing for about 15 months and have been surprised by how well I got on with working from home. I started doing it part-time when DC was tiny - found a great CM nearby, went for part-time hours, and just gave it a go. I was familiar with the client and I just sort of hit the ground running.

Except that after a good spell of 12 months or so, the work had totally dried up in the last 3. In a way I didn't notice too much and welcomed the free time since I had a lot of other things going on in my life, including some exciting creative work that is close to my heart but doesn't pay the bills.

I recently applied for a permanent position and got a callback very quickly. I've done one interview and am lined up to do another this week. It's full-time. Then just today I got a call about the prospect of some further freelance work, but it doesn't look definite and I know I can't count on it.

The work that I do doesn't exactly excite me, but when I was just freelancing part-time I enjoyed dipping into it. I dread the thought of a permanent full-time gig -- the commute, having to play the promotion game, all that stuff, plus not having any extra time for the personal creative work that I love doing on the side. On the other hand I need a pension and a plan (and possibly paid maternity leave at some point) -- right?

WWYD? I am 30. Should I be wearing my sensible career hat right now, do you think?

MrsMargoLeadbetter Wed 09-Oct-13 16:23:32

I'd ask - do you think the downturn can happen again? And did you do everything you could to generate new business?

If it was a blip and/or you didn't try (or try hard enough - not a criticism just asking if there was potential you maybe didn't capitalise on) to find more work it sounds like freelance could still be an option for you.