Vegetarian dinnder party- no tomatoes or nightshades

(31 Posts)
hotair Mon 30-Sep-13 16:18:04

Right I have to throw a vegetarian dinner party, but I cannot eat tomatoes, potatoes, aubergines and soy sauce. I am also intolerant to nuts and can't eat anything too spicy without being poorly.
I have no idea what so ever where to start! It's also my first dinner party, so nothing too complicated please, (although I am a pretty accomplished cook.)
Any ideas gratefully received!

DisappointedHorse Mon 30-Sep-13 16:21:15

This is a really nice recipe and it always goes down well. You could just omit the pine nuts?

www.deliaonline.com/recipes/cuisine/european/italian/spinach-and-ricotta-lasagne-with-pine-nuts.html

hotair Mon 30-Sep-13 16:25:36

Looks yummy but I should have added that I also shouldn't eat spinach (I do so love it though- just not the day afterwards!)

tethersend Mon 30-Sep-13 16:28:27

Butternut and sage risitto, omit the pine nuts.

Cheese and parsnip roulade, omit the hazelnuts.

tethersend Mon 30-Sep-13 16:29:23

Or do a vegetable pie with mixed veg in a creamy sauce?

Patilla Mon 30-Sep-13 16:30:04

Macaroni cheese?

Or baked gnocchi with cheese?

Patilla Mon 30-Sep-13 16:31:07

Out of interest are you the vegetarian? If its only ove person you might decide to do a veggie and non veggie option for ease?

tethersend Mon 30-Sep-13 16:31:11
tethersend Mon 30-Sep-13 16:31:58

Lentil shepherds pie with sweet potato mash?

Is cheese allowable? Puy lentils with feta and red onion is one of my standbys.

A quinoa pilaff made with mushrooms and courgettes.

Roast roots with rosemary - carrot, squash, parsnip chunks baked in the oven with garlic and rosemary. Add cubes of haloumi if permissable.

Asparagus quiche.

hotair Mon 30-Sep-13 16:37:09

No patilla I'm not the veggie- me and dh are unrepentant meat eaters, but all four guests are very strict veggies so I think it would be a bit pointless to do two menus!