Cookery bookclub - who is with me?

(449 Posts)
tigerlilygrr Fri 05-Apr-13 10:19:27

I love cookbooks and have picked up a ton of recommendations since joining mumsnet. I am keen to set up a cookery book club - anyone else interested? I propose:
- we select one book each month
- we go away, try out the recipes and generally revel in the deliciousness
- we chat about it

We could alternate between books people are likely to have eg Nigella, Jamie, Delia and something a bit more unusual. If we have a rolling three month list, that gives people time to borrow / buy books they don't have (from the library for example).

What to you think?

Damp apple and almond cake is beautiful. Very easy, and lighter than air. I have never succeeded quite so well with any cake, I'm a terrible baker. It looks and tastes wonderfulgrin grin
I must say that it wasn't cheap, ground almonds are 1.80 for 150g in asda and this takes 325g, but well worth it.

I have done the chicken murhali, it's waiting to be reheated and eaten this evening. I hope it goes down as well as the cake.

Oh, and the sake steak (made with marsala) was very nice too. Brilliant method of cooking the steak just right, although I could have done with more sauce as it was delicious.
Nobody will respect my critique if all I give are rave reviews. I can feel credibility draining away each post I writewink

Pantah630 Wed 24-Apr-13 14:53:24

Oh that cake sounds very nice, I can see my waistband is going to keep expanding with this thread smile

Soupqueen Wed 24-Apr-13 18:12:11

Broccoli fritters are on the menu for tomorrow night!

Pantah630 Wed 24-Apr-13 19:09:36

The broccoli fritters were a hit, Guinness cake is cooling. I drank the rest of the Guinness, when I don't normally drink, so in might happen tomorrow night if I fall asleep smile

karmakameleon Wed 24-Apr-13 19:57:48

tigerlily I'm very impressed that you tried the bee sting cake. It looks amazing and certainly not easy!