Am I being unrealistic?

(10 Posts)
La19010 Mon 19-Nov-12 20:00:40

Hi I am new to this and looking for advice or reassurance, pending your answers. My son is 2 years 1 month and since just before his 2nd birthday I feel his diet has deteriorated, he has pretty much overnight started refusing all the meals he ate before. My partner says I am being unrealistic as to my expectations of what a toddler will eat and he eats a good variety for his age is he right?

Foods he will eat are

Plain fish
Fish fingers
Breaded fish
Plain chicken (or any plain meat)
Bread
Yoghurt
Any fruit
Any cereal
Sandwiches with plain meat or dairylea
Eggs
Meatballs
Lasagne
Rice cakes
Potato wedges
Sweet corn
Sausages
Milk
Fruit juice
Oatcakes
Beans
Pizza

Hit or miss items include
Soup
Baked potato
Macaroni cheese

He will not eat what I think of as meals eg

Pasta
Risotto
Casserole
Broccoli bake ( which he used to love)
Meat + 2 veg kinda thing

What do you think? Although I am trying not to make a big deal about this, after our family meal I will only allow him a small piece I fruit if he doesn't eat his meals and not make a fuss. Meal times are becoming increasing stressful as he is now very confident in saying no.

Thanks

He's a toddler, they're famous for it. The list of things he will eat is brilliant

DorsetKnob Mon 19-Nov-12 20:03:06

That is a huge list of what he will eat.

Your son eats more than mine will. Someone on here once said 'as a parent it's your responsibility to give your child healthy, balanced meals, it's not your responsibility to make them eat them'. Helped me a lot. My son doesn't eat a huge variety of food but it's balanced enough, he's not overweight, he's healthy & has plenty if energy so I've tried to stopped worrying about it. DS1 is 2.9 now.

Hassled Mon 19-Nov-12 20:06:12