Affordable private tutors?

(44 Posts)
sallyjones320 Sat 11-Feb-12 20:58:11

Hi all,

I am new to Mumsnet. Just browsing quickly through the forums, I am pleasantly surprised at how active and helpful members are, so I hope someone will be able to help me out.

I am a mum to 2 secondary school kids. I am currently looking for a private tutor in maths and french for my elder son as he has been struggling with his grades recently and I want to make sure that he gets the right help before this gets any worse.

If anyone has any suggestions for a local tutor in the London area (someone preferably who doesn't charge too much £££), it would be most appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Sally

MagratGarlik Fri 03-Jan-14 22:21:36

I agree with ameliagrey, too (and charge considerably less than £50/hour, but also do not negotiate on price). I actually choose to go from a full-time, well-paid professional position as a tenured university academic to tutoring because I enjoy working with students on a one-to-one basis more than teaching 200-300 at a time. I still maintain my research too, but in a consultancy role (together with editorial board memberships for some journals and various other activities). Together, this allows me to maintain all the bits I enjoyed of my university position, but I enjoy it much more.