Note: Please bear in mind that this is a discussion board, not a place to advertise childcare vacancies or recruit childminders/nannies etc. We don't mind the odd mumsnet regular mentioning that they're looking for a job/mindee (although you're probably better off in MN Local) but repeated job "ads" and posts from nanny/babysitting agencies aren't fair to people who are paying for small business ads. Do feel free to report any you see. Thanks, MNHQ.

Before/ after school childminder- what should I ask? And are they all ofsted?

(14 Posts)
MrsGrumpyPants Tue 03-Jun-14 15:29:09

I've never used a childminder before, only nurseries. My eldest is off to school this autumn and I'll need a childminder to do drop offs and pick ups several days a week. Any hints and tips? Also how often should childminders have Ofsted inspections, or indeed do they have to?

I've found someone with space and will be going to visit then, but it's just all new to me. They would have to drive to take and pick up DC to/ from school, but I'm guessing in some ways that's safer than someone walking along with 10 kids trailing behind them?

Gah, nursery a lot easier! Thanks in advance

adsy Tue 03-Jun-14 16:08:48

CM's are all registered and inspected roughly every 3 years.
They follow the same rules and regulations as nurseries but with lower ratios and more one on one care.
Ask if they will provide dinner and what sort it is.
If you need term time only will you need to pay a retainer in holidays.
do you pay if your child is away on holiday / sick ( almost 100% will be yes)
Does she have a back up CM if she is ever off ( tends to be rare that cM take time off ill!!)
What happens if school is shut due to bad weather etc. will she still be able to have your dc for the full day ( usually yes for a fee)

PhoebeMcPeePee Tue 03-Jun-14 16:25:50