Note: Please bear in mind that this is a discussion board, not a place to advertise childcare vacancies or recruit childminders/nannies etc. We don't mind the odd mumsnet regular mentioning that they're looking for a job/mindee (although you're probably better off in MN Local) but repeated job "ads" and posts from nanny/babysitting agencies aren't fair to people who are paying for small business ads. Do feel free to report any you see. Thanks, MNHQ.

Term time only minders

(12 Posts)
MrsExcited Thu 28-Mar-13 14:20:51

I will hopefully be avidly looking for a TTO cm when i have a child, I will have to go back to work at 6-8 months and hope that my parents will have moved back over from the south of France by then, Mum has offered to look after 2 days a week.

I am a secondary school teacher, so have all holidays off, obs some of that time is needed to prepare for the next term, so if i am paying a retainer over the holidays i am likely to want to use that, otherwise would hope between mum and i we can organise the 2-3 days every holidays i currently spend working!

I would prefer to pay a cm, spaced over 12 months as this is how i get paid, but would be flexible to however they would like to be paid.

Think the voucher scheme will have moved on before we get there (having just had a set back and mc)

lechatnoir Thu 28-Mar-13 13:50:38

I don't charge a holiday retainer either as I don't want them to feel obliged to use the space they're saving!

ReetPetit Wed 27-Mar-13 20:53:19

i would do the same as you fivesacrowd - i would rather the drop in income to have time with my own dc. i think if you charge a retainer for holidays you run the risk of the parents wanting to use the place and then having the awkwardness that that brings!!

fivesacrowd Wed 27-Mar-13 20:39:13