When did you give up Breastfeeding, and why?

(57 Posts)
amri Tue 26-Mar-13 20:59:48

Hi,

I've been breastfeeding my daughter for 6 months - 4 months exclusively, and introduced a bedtime bottle as part of her routine from 4 months on. If you had asked me before she came along how long I'd like to feed for, I would have said 6 months, but I don't feel quite ready to give up (though part of me would like to, mainly for selfish reasons!) Will be going back to work in August when baby is coming up to 10 months, so will probably keep at it until then, in combination with BLW. It's so convenient in many ways, and i'm enjoying the cuddles which are happening less and less these days! Also can't really face washing bottles, the one-per-night is enough as it is, goddamn Dr. Browns bottles and their little parts :/

Just wondering really how long you breastfed for, and what your reasons were for giving up?

seeminglyso Thu 04-Apr-13 14:18:07

27 months and still going..plan to allow DS to self wean so could be in it for the long haul!

FadBook Thu 04-Apr-13 12:49:28

Mumnosbest - this link from Kellymom is a good source of info on breastfeeding strikes. It is unusual for babies to self wean before 12 months (normally more like 2 years) but it does happen, sometimes due to development, low milk supply and mums naturally putting food before milk (which is very normal to do, especially when real life gets in the way and you're going back to work, not around etc) The link has some times to over come strikes.

mumnosbest Wed 03-Apr-13 23:41:50

Breastfeeding strikes???

NeverKnowinglyUnderstood Wed 03-Apr-13 23:31:15

DS1 11months 3 weeks ( I remember because dh and I had a row about the week of formula that he insisted DS1 had because he wasn't ready for cows milk angry )

DS2 just over 12 months