Toddler not eating much at all

(4 Posts)
Elizabeth22 Tue 11-Dec-12 21:02:56

No probs. The whole getting them to eat (and trying not to get upset chucking away good food that's been untouched) is really stressful, isn't it? Ps I forgot to say in my mammoth post that apricots are really good as they're iron rich and I pretend they're sweets...

varicoseveined Tue 11-Dec-12 14:25:24

Thanks for your reply, a lot of useful info there!

Your story sounds a bit similar to mine. I'm on the slim side, turns out my mum said I was the same as a toddler but grew out of it. And this morning I discovered that DS is teething so that explains a lot! Will definitely look into providing more iron rich food and adding cream cheese to sauces. Thanks again!

Elizabeth22 Tue 11-Dec-12 08:29:11

I'm not an expert but it sounds like you are in the same place I was with my BF toddler at that age. My toddler was filling up on milk so wasn't hungry. One reason was he was constantly ill so BF was a comfort. The second thing was that he was a bit behind on speech so he never communicated he was hungry so by the time he was REALLY hungry he would ask for a feed. So I needed to guess before he got to that stage. Also being a toddler he was always TOO busy with playing to eat. So what I did was put a grazing plate out during the day with varied snacks. Also I find he is hungry at times that we're not. Because he had a morning feed - breakfast was later. Then that pushed out lunch, which pushed out dinner. We find he's hungry after his evening bath!! Because he's not eating much we give him a vitamin supplement in case. But apparently Breast milk contains lots of Vits but not iron. So make sure you offer iron rich goods rather when he does eat. My son could survive on crackers so I added spreads to the crackers. Such as cream cheese, peanut butter and marmite - and also pâté as that's iron rich. We make a point of not saying anything (really hard) and find he comes back to it in his own time whe