Makaton Signing

(12 Posts)
whoknowswho Thu 29-Nov-12 10:37:28

Thanks guys for all your replies - course booked for January.

SamSmalaidh Sat 24-Nov-12 21:24:20

IIRC you cover 400 signs in the core vocabulary in the foundation course, so more than enough to get started with.

SamSmalaidh Sat 24-Nov-12 21:22:16

I did the makaton foundation course over 4 half days, pretty easy to pick up but you do need to keep using it regularly or you will forget it. Try to use the signs practically as soon as you learn them.

hubbahubster Sat 24-Nov-12 21:18:27

Makaton is meant to be used for people with special needs (which includes my DB). I found signing useful with DS but I always used BSL since we went to a baby signing group that used it. Makaton itself isn't any better than BSL.

Chottie Fri 23-Nov-12 20:30:40

I studied Makaton too, it was not difficult to pick up as it is very logical.

Emsyboo Fri 23-Nov-12 20:28:04

I Do baby sign language with my DS picked it up really easily my friend is a speech therapist and was amazed how similar makaton is to the signs we use.
They are quite obvious or have easy ways or stories as to what they are ie biscuit is hand on elbow as if grinding with elbow from when sailors would smash worms out if biscuits and mother is your 3 fingers tapping the head as mother is the head of the household wink
If its a good course I don't think you'll find it difficult good luck x x

bruffin Fri 23-Nov-12 14:45:03

My dd 15 helps at a SEN playgroup and has picked up Makaton from the children and leaders quite easily. She seems to know quite a few signs.

feetheart Fri 23-Nov-12 06:41:35

Sorry I didn't get back - RL interfering with MN!

I would echo what Ineedalife says.