We ask that emails regarding swaps not contain any unsolicited advertising. If you have received an email which contains advertising, please let us know at contactus@mumsnet.com.

Craft stalls - how do you take payment?

(27 Posts)
Kikithecat Mon 07-Oct-13 18:47:15

I am planning to do my first ever craft fair soon and have been reading up on hints and tips. However I was wondering if someone with experience can tell me: are payments always in cash or do customers expect to be able to use credit cards etc? As it's my first time I wouldn't be set up for this, but some of my items would be of high-ish value (£50 or more).

Kikithecat Mon 07-Oct-13 18:55:01

Bump

lookoveryourshouldernow Mon 07-Oct-13 18:58:20

.... have you had a look at the new system from Paypal - which allows you to take credit card payments through a smartphone ??

Kikithecat Mon 07-Oct-13 19:00:55

That sounds good lookover. Is it a Paypal app then?

I only ever took cash - you need to have proper permission from the bank to take cards. I don't know about the paypal app. In my experience, most people had plenty of cash with them - I always assume a craft fair is unlikely to have many sellers set up to take cards.

Very interested in this post as I am planning to do my first craft fair too, may be we could compare experiences. What are you selling Kiki and when is your fair? (for obvious reasons, can't help with the payment question as haven't figured it out yet).

Kikithecat Wed 09-Oct-13 08:56:59

Hi lifeistooshort, I think I'll be doing my first fair on 7th December. I have just started selling my paintings (decorative art).