We ask that emails regarding swaps not contain any unsolicited advertising. If you have received an email which contains advertising, please let us know at contactus@mumsnet.com.

Quilting - websites for an absolute beginner?

(18 Posts)
TeamEdward Thu 19-Sep-13 17:46:36

Inspired by the latest Tracy Chevalier book, The Last Runaway, I've decided to make a quilt.
I've ordered 40x4in squares in shades of blue, and now need to know what to do. I picked up a craft quilting book from the library, but it was a bit advance TBH.

Can you recommend a good website/book/resource?

MinniesMate Thu 19-Sep-13 19:47:39

Look at this lady's website.

www.ludlowquiltandsew.co.uk/

Fantastic beginner tutorials. Takes you through all the basics.

Beware, it's very addictive!

TeamEdward Thu 19-Sep-13 19:48:18

Lovely! Thank you.

AboutTimeForAChange Sat 21-Sep-13 10:41:26

I have just found this site, linked on another thread, you may like as time goes by.

MacCulloch-Wallis

TeamEdward Sat 21-Sep-13 19:14:17

Thank you.
My squares have arrived, and now I wish I'd ordered more!

craftycottontail Mon 23-Sep-13 20:37:27

Look up the Missouri Star Quilt Company on Youtube, they do loads of good tutorials on piecing patchwork and the odd few on how to quilt and add binding.

try these on line tutorials
http://imagingermonkey.blogspot.co.uk/p/tutorials.html
http://www.modabakeshop.com/search/label/Quilt
http://www.cluckclucksew.com/p/free-quilting-tutorials.html

if you like modern improvised quilts, try Quilt improv by Lucie Summers, Modern Minimal is brilliant and Beginner's guide to quilting by Elizabeth Betts. Have fun!

TeamEdward Tue 24-Sep-13 08:11:05

I'm going to have a go today sod the housework. Wish me luck!

Potterer Wed 25-Sep-13 09:46:06

Ooh I've come to this a bit late, I have played around with quilting recently and I love Jenny of Missouri Star Quilt Company on YouTube as mentioned by craftycottontail