AIBU to think that pets are a luxury?

(137 Posts)
E320 Sun 31-Mar-13 14:57:13

prompted by a post on another board.
Do people also factor their cost (food, vet's bills, insurance etc.) into the monthly budget or even the weekly shopping (food)?

ThePlatypusAlwaysTriumphs Thu 04-Apr-13 17:21:33

I am a vet, and I do think animals, while a great thing to have, are a bit of a luxury item.

Some people have mentioned vet's bills as being "ridiculous", but to be fair, I don't think that's true. The cost of drugs and other aspects of running a surgery (eg heating/ lighting/ water) has risen. I have my own practice and don't make anything like my friends who are lawyers/ bankers/ accountants (I earn about half they do, and work far more hours) I don't really mind- I do my job because I love it, and always have.

But it breaks my heart when I have to euthanase an animal because owners can't afford to treat it. Most times it's not even as though I could treat it and do it for nothing- treating would mean referral for MRI scans etc which cost £££. Other times it is due to behavioural issues that may have been helped/ avoided by consulting a behaviouralist, but owners are unwilling/ unable to spend the time or money required. sad I often see these owners back with their new puppy the next month.

I know people mean well, but taking on a pet you can't afford is not always the best thing for the animal. You may be stopping it from going to a home where they could afford insurance for that £4000 spinal surgery that would give it another 5 years or so of life. Or where they could afford painkillers to allow it to be pain-free for the last couple of years of its life. Seems to me lots of people take on animals on the basis of what the animal can bring to them, and not thinking about what they can give the animal. And please don't say "love"- love doesn't cure broken legs or rotten purulent teeth!!

Failedhippy Thu 04-Apr-13 17:10:54