To not want fb to upload every single photo I've taken?

(26 Posts)
Stinkyminkymoo Mon 03-Dec-12 17:01:33

I know, I know. Fb is pretty awful and the Daily Fail even more so, but I really do not like the idea of pictures I've taken being uploaded onto fb.

I only really use it occasionally and don't want any photos of my DD on it. I just think the lack of privacy is getting more disturbing.

The main points are:
* Photo Sync being aggressively promoted to Facebook's mobile app users
* It will upload every single picture taken to the social network's servers
* Facebook will benefit from huge windfall of data it can commercialise
* It could use that data to build detailed database of users' lives

All a bit disturbing, me thinks its time to remove it from my phone.

StNickHasHisXmasTeakozyOn Mon 03-Dec-12 19:03:07

You have to opt in. It's optional, so unless you agree to it your photos will not be uploaded.

TeeElfOnTeeShelf Mon 03-Dec-12 18:56:48

They aren't being sneaky. It's all in their T&Cs.

It's up to you to read them.

Stinkyminkymoo Mon 03-Dec-12 18:36:05

I know IABU about the DM link (I did put a tiny disclaimer in at the beginning grin), it is shit, but I still don't like how sneaky fb is though.

fuzzpig Mon 03-Dec-12 18:30:58

I use the iPhone app and it hasn't shown anything to do with this yet... will definitely be saying no.

Sallyingforth Mon 03-Dec-12 18:13:21

Seabird - you need to check FB's current terms and conditions. They change from time to time. This bit used to be valid and might still be:

For content that is covered by intellectual property rights, like photos
and videos (IP content), you specifically give us the following
permission, subject to your privacy and application settings: you grant
us a non-exclusive, transferable, sub-licensable, royalty-free, worldwide
license to use any IP content that you post on or in connection with
Facebook (IP License). This IP License ends when you delete your IP
content or your account unless your content has been shared with others,
and they have not deleted it.

prettybird Mon 03-Dec-12 18:11:34

...and personally, although the photos are not public until you choose them to be, I still won't opt-in for all sorts of reasons - quite apart from the fact that I don't want fb to mine my photos, half my photos are crap and I have loads of duplicates as I try to take a half decent one. I definitely wouldn't be wanting to sift through all of the rejected photos.

KenLeeeeeee Mon 03-Dec-12 18:11:21

YABU to accept the DM's account of anything as a rational assessment if the facts.

YABVU to get so worked up about an optional feature of a social networking website.

Seabird72 Mon 03-Dec-12 18:07:56

could you not go onto FB afterwards and just delete the photos you don't want on?

prettybird Mon 03-Dec-12 18:07:31

It's an Opt-in - it doesn't hold on to the photos unless and until you ask it to.

Goes away muttering about DM

Here is a good article which gives some constructive advice here

Sallyingforth Mon 03-Dec-12 18:07:21

Just remember that even if you don't make pictures or other information public, Facebook doesn't include itself in 'public'. It can see everything you upload and will make use of it.

You may not be bothered about that of course. It's your decision.

Haha, well thankyou for the slightly dramatic DM link.

Have you ever used the facial recognition software on FB? It rarely gets it right. As for the location data your photos will only contain location data if you allow them to. I know my phone has the option to turn GPS tracking on and off. If it's off then it wont be able to store location data.

TeeElfOnTeeShelf Mon 03-Dec-12 18:01:15

Okay, skimmed the article. So it will use the photos for their own data mining.

Which they already do with everything you give them.

So don't use the upload app.

TeeElfOnTeeShelf Mon 03-Dec-12 18:00:08

"Well from what I can gather it will 'hold' your photos until you give them permission to actually publish them."

I don't think they do. Be a bit bloody daft to use up server space if it isn't needed.

Just had a read.

Basically if you opt in then it will upload all your photos to a private album, and you then choose which you make public.

If you don't opt in then it doesn't touch the images.

Stinkyminkymoo Mon 03-Dec-12 17:55:23

Here's the link:
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2242255/Facebook-accused-massive-data-grab-new-service-automatically-uploads-phone-pictures.html

Stinkyminkymoo Mon 03-Dec-12 17:54:18

Well from what I can gather it will 'hold' your photos until you give them permission to actually publish them. The issue I have is that they've already uploaded them regardless.

I'm going to remove the fb app from my phone & iPad. I just don't agree with this sort of intrusion into my life, it's not why I signed up to fb.

TeeElfOnTeeShelf Mon 03-Dec-12 17:48:43

Ah, so it's an opt in thing, then?

Then I'm not sure what the OP's problem is. Just don't opt in.

I love Facebook. And most of my pictures do end up there!

Was I suppose to get a memo or something?

Sallyingforth Mon 03-Dec-12 17:43:47

You have to remember that Facebook is not provided as a public service.
It's there to collect as much data as possible about users, which is then processed, analysed and sold on.
FB will always aim to collect the maximum amount of information about you (and about anyone else that you mention or link to on it), and this is something you must accept if you choose to use it.

I've got that app, it asks if you want to do it, you say no. Could it be any easier?

And before anyone cries that they were even given the option, it is a new feature, of course it makes sense to offer it, or people wouldn't know it was there. Also plenty of people do like features like that. Let's face it, the main reason FB took over where MySpace used to be was because of the photo albums. And now it has to compete with Instagram.

TrillsCarolsOutOfTune Mon 03-Dec-12 17:43:10

They will be uploaded automatically if you sign up for the thing that uploads them automatically. If you don't sign up for it then they won;t be.

I do like Facebook, so I use it.

I don't want all my photos to be uploaded, so I won't tell Facebook to do that.

TeeElfOnTeeShelf Mon 03-Dec-12 17:37:24

I don't understand. How are they being uploaded automatically? Mine don't. Ever. Not unless I tell it to.

Is this an app? Is there a law change I've missed that says you have to use it or what? You get arrested?

If you don't like Facebook, don't use it. It's not a requirement in life.

OutragedAtThePriceOfFreddos Mon 03-Dec-12 17:36:20

I only ever look at facebook on my iPhone, I've never heard of photo sync. Can't you just not upload photos if you don't want your photos to be uploaded?

FeckOffCup Mon 03-Dec-12 17:33:28

I don't really know what Photo Sync is, is that an iphone app, can you not just uninstall it? If you think facebook is awful why do you even have a facebook page?

TrillsCarolsOutOfTune Mon 03-Dec-12 17:22:47

Just don't press that button then?

Molepomandmistletoe Mon 03-Dec-12 17:20:25

What I don't understand is....

if they can do this with your phone, what's stopping them doing this with your computer?

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now