Any other Neil Gaiman fans? The Ocean at the End of the Lane is out next week

(35 Posts)
Dunlurking Wed 12-Jun-13 15:53:04

Who's looking forward to this?

I'm ridiculously excited. It's his first adult book since 2005. There was an extract in the guardian this week www.guardian.co.uk/books/2013/jun/10/extract-ocean-end-lane-neil-gaiman

My favourite is American Gods, and I think I have all his books that are straight novels, but none of his graphic novels. Should I be trying them? Which would you suggest?

I'm excited. I'm quite new to his books so have been racing through them all. Last week I finished The Graveyard Book & Coraline, started American Gods this week.

I would also be interested in knowing if his graphic novels are worth a read, especially as its not something I would usually pick.

Dunlurking Thu 13-Jun-13 06:18:22

Ooh you've given me an idea tillyfernackerpants. Think I will have a race through reread of some of his old ones. Going to start with Good Omens - Neil Gaiman AND Terry Pratchet, what more could you want!

Dunlurking Thu 13-Jun-13 06:19:37

Terry Pratchett even!

Elasticsong Thu 13-Jun-13 06:34:02

You should have a go at the Sandman - if you don't get along with the graphic novel style, you can always admire Dave McKean's darkly gorgeous cover designs. I loved reading these (nearly 20 years ago -ouch).

marissab Thu 13-Jun-13 14:58:40

Yep the sandman novels are acesmile

Good Omens I read as a teenager but never twigged until recently it was a Neil Gaiman book blush. A friend posted this on FB the other week -if only lol!

Will definitely give the Sandman books a try, thank you.

I love American Gods as well.

Also love Neverwhere - is that for adults? Didn't like Stardust though - one of the only films I have preferred to the book (that and Cloud Atlas).

Dunlurking Sat 15-Jun-13 07:28:22

Thanks for the tip about the Sandman Elasticsong and marissab, I shall get onto our library's website to put a request in.