Please note that threads in this topic are removed from the archive 90 days after the thread was started. If you would like your thread to be retrievable for longer than that, please choose another topic in which to post it.

EYFS interview. Help! I'm useless!

(36 Posts)
Snowcherriesfromfrance Fri 06-Jun-14 15:31:55

I've posted in the staff room too but put here for more traffic - sorry! I'm just really nervous. Have been at home for 4 years and this is my first attempt to go back to work. I've no idea what I'm doing!!

Ive got an interview on Tuesday and it's quite vague but I will have the whole class for 30 minutes.

This is what I'm thinking (current topic is minibeasts)

Read the book "snail trail" with the children. I have a snail puppet too and some small props for the snail to go through as it does in the story.

Then some children will presumably have free choice which I'm not sure if Im supposed to resource?! I've planned some activities and I know their role play is bug themed atm. There are only 15 in the class btw. I've also got some plastic mini beasts for them to sort and match and some junk modelling stuff to make bug habitats.

Then I will have four children to do some focused work on the story. I was going to give them some card, glitter and glue to make their own snail trails and then ask them to sequence the events and stick them along their snail trails. The higher ability could add labels and the mainstream could add initial sounds. The bottom ability won't be able to do this so would just be lots of taking. We would look at the book and the props again as we did this.