Please note that threads in this topic are removed from the archive 90 days after the thread was started. If you would like your thread to be retrievable for longer than that, please choose another topic in which to post it.

Telling DH I'm not giving DSD any more money.

(120 Posts)
Nondescriptusernameforthisone Wed 23-Apr-14 16:51:23

Changed name for this, as it may contain more personal information than I'm totally comfortable with. Some of you might know my story anyway.

I have two DSC and one DD (all are my DH's children). My DSD is 19. She is moving out to attend university away in the autumn. She has been doing a foundation year this year.

We have an unusual financial situation. I don't want to dripfeed, but there is a lot of detail and backstory.

DH is not working currently. He does a share of the childcare for our DD, and is completing his PhD. I have a PhD and work full-time, but my current contract ends in the autumn and I don't think it will be renewed, so I will be looking for another job, as will DH (we will still need childcare for DD, too). I am at the beginning of my career, so my salary is relatively low. We get tax credits and child benefit for the qualifying two children. We have no savings. I work very hard and for part of last year had some part-time work in addition to my full-time job. We do ok, but we can't save; we have bills and some debt, and nothing put aside for my own DD's future apart from £10/month I have going from my account into a child trust fund plan that she'll get at 18. I'm worried about what will happen in the autumn, obviously. DH gets a small pension, too.